Officially opened on 11 April 2013, Olympic Park has now begun a new phase in its history as an AFL training ground and public sport and recreation space. The $11m redevelopment by Melbourne & Olympic Parks includes a running track around the oval's perimeter.
Collingwood Football Club, who will utilise the oval as their training field, is currently building change facilities and a health, wellness and fitness centre in a bid to encourage more women to utilise the area. The facility will also be of benefit to the many joggers who frequent the nearby Botanical Gardens 'Tan' track and Yarra River paths.
The enormous history of Olympic Park has not been forgotten, with the John Landy - Ron Clarke statue 'Sportsmanship' being relocated to where the iconic moment occurred back in the 1956 Australian Olympic trials. And attached to the adjacent Edwin Flack Footbridge are original Olympic rings attached to Olympic Park venues used for events of the 1956 Games. Olympic Park Oval was the scene of the football (soccer) preliminary round.
Kicking the first goal at the Olympic Park Oval opening; Landy & Clark - back where they belong
Enquiries about athletics at Lakeside Stadium
(Albert Park) should be directed to the State Sport Centre Trust on 03 9926 1512.
for Athletics Victoria's website.